Why I want to be a journalist

I decided for this career path almost exactly three years ago and I haven’t changed my mind until today, although many people have tried to make me do so. I’m not going to lie, it takes a lot of courage, patience and persistence to pursue a career, which no one around you wants you to do. I went through many talks with my parents, trying to convince them that I actually want to do this and no, I don’t want to be a doctor, a lawyer, an advocate, a surgeon, a dentist, a scientist or whatever else is popular and well-paid. Thankfully, they accepted my decision after I told them I know exactly what I’m doing and I’m well aware that it’s a stressful job that is quite underpaid and unpopular. So why do I want to be a journalist if I know it’s such a terrible profession?

1. It’s a dynamic job

You never know what is going to happen tomorrow, therefore you don’t know what are you going to write about. It’s dynamic, untraditional, mysterious and exciting. Of course, you don’t get to write about exciting things all the time – you also have to do a lot of paperwork, emails and phone calls – but still, you will get to work with exciting stuff as well.

2. You might be able to travel

Lots of people my age think that being a journalist means you travel around the world all the time. The truth is (from what I’ve heard) that you will definitely travel, but it might not be the travelling you are thinking about. If you are hardworking and willing to sacrifice some things (sleep, free time), you will most likely get a job that will require travelling abroad. (And I am obviously willing to do that sacrifice.)

3. You meet exciting people

Meeting lots of people every day comes hand in hand with being a journalist. In my opinion, interviewing interesting people is definitely one of the most exciting aspects of this job. Actors, directors, writers, politicians, economists, scientists, sportsmen, musicians and many, many more.

4. You are present

Honestly, I don’t think there’s a profession that requires you being present more than journalism. You have to be in the middle of events, constantly aware of what’s happening. You don’t really have to time to dig in the past or dream about future. You live from day to day and you learn new things all the time.

5. You experience things firsthand

You are often the first one to hear what’s happening. You are also the one who tells others. It’s a great responsibility, but also an indefinably exciting opportunity. I have once read an article by a journalist, who was one of the first people to report the 9/11 terrorist attack and I have never had bigger goosebumps.

Leave a Reply

