Missing inspiration?

As far as I can remember, I’ve always struggled with inspiration for my writing. Inspiration comes and goes and it does so any time, sometimes even in the middle of the process. So, how can you stay creative even if you don’t feel inspired?

Actually, there’s no special advice. You just pretty much have to keep creating, no matter what. Because as I found out, inspiration is very quirky. It usually shows up when you expect it the least and vice versa. However, I found out one more thing – that inspiration comes during literally any creative activity, so you don’t really have to sit in front of your computer and stare at a blank page of Word document.

Instead of sitting and praying for a visit of inspiration, I started doing other activities. One of my most favourite ones at the moment is playing the ukulele I got for Christmas. Music is proved to have a very positive impact on creativity and mental health, so playing the ukulele is one of the best ways to take my mind off the pressure of writing something, yet it helps me to open up for the incoming ideas, which – to be honest – is absolutely amazing. When I don’t feel like playing the uke, I sometimes change it for an accordion or – rarely – a flute.

If you don’t consider yourself musically gifted or you don’t own any musical instrument at all, then you can always find a piece of paper and a pencil or a pen. Therefore, feel free to express your creativity through drawing. I don’t really think that I’m good at drawing – in fact, I think I’m pretty terrible at it – but it still helps me. I guess that any kind of activity, where you create something new, is always helpful, no matter how great you are at it.

Next possible way of expressing yourself is definitely crafting. Creating DIY things is without a doubt a fun activity, which helps you catch some ideas and as a product, you create something useful for your home, which is a win-win situation.

The last thing I personally find very helpful (and it may sound a bit strange) is cooking. Maybe you’re wondering how cooking can be a creative activity… well, it is. Considering me being a vegetarian, I have to make up new recipes and try new cuisines and it requires a lot of creativity. I always search the Internet for inspiration on meals and then I randomly mix some ingredients, which we (surprisingly) have at home and create a brand new dish – last week, for example, I made button mushrooms cooked in a sauce made from onions, tomatoes and rosé wine with ginger, coriander, black pepper, chili and cinnamon. It may seem like a weird combination, but it was insanely good and I just couldn’t get enough of it.

So, what is the main idea I wanted to give out? If you’re a creative person like me, don’t waste your time waiting for inspiration to come. Instead, keep moving towards it in any way possible. If you do so, you’ll soon achieve that moment, when suddenly the idea appears on your mind and you feel you stomach shiver with excitement.

Leave a Reply

