The Time I Baked the Best Carrot Cake Ever

I fell in love.
With a cake.

Hey, I actually love this recipe so much. Not only it is quite healthy, it’s also absolutely delicious and good-looking (if you have time to style it – I didn’t). And it’s definitely the best carrot cake I’ve ever tasted. When the author of this recipe wrote that I should better make two of them, because one won’t be enough, I thought it was just a lame joke. However, he/she was right. I do need two of them, because the one I baked is almost already eaten and I won’t have any more to eat for breakfast, which sucks, because it’s the perfect thing to eat in the morning with your morning cup of coffee.

By saying it’s quite healthy, I meant it is actually healthy, except for the sugar in it. I used 120 grams, which is way too much for me, so I’d recommend you to use 80 g of sugar or some sort of maple or agave syrup instead of it.

IMG_20170107_163921.jpg
When I wanted to take a photo, I found out that most of the cake have already had disappeared, so this is all you’ll get.

Delicious Carrot Cake

120 g walnuts or almonds (doesn’t matter)
120 g finely grated carrots
2 tbsp flour
grated peel of 1/2 lemon
2 eggs
120 g sugar (80-100 is enough)

  1. Grind the nuts until you have almost nut flour and put it into a large bowl.
  2. Add the grated carrots, flour and lemon peel, stir.
  3. Preheat the oven to 180 °C.
  4. Divide the egg yolks and whites.
  5. Whip the whites with a pinch of salt, until it looks fine and stays still.
  6. Whip the yolks with the sugar until it thickens and looks white-y.
  7. Add the yolks with sugar into the bowl and stir it finely (you can use your hands). Make sure there are no bits of flour, carrots or yolks and everything is finely mixed together.
  8. Add the whites, carefully stir – you don’t wanna ruin it.
  9. Pour it into a rectangular cake pan (20×10 cm and don’t forget the baking paper)
  10. Sprinkle it with more nuts or sunflower seeds.
  11. Bake 40 minutes or until a toothpick comes out clean (well, a few scrumbs are okay, because this cake is a bit more sticky than normal cakes)
  12. Enjoy the taste and LEAVE SOME FOR THE BREAKFAST!
One Comment Add yours

  1. chefkreso says:

    Lovely post 😊

    Like

Leave a Reply

