My opinion on US presidential elections

Although I live in the Czech Republic, I was hugely interested in the result and the process itself of the American presidential elections. Therefore, I was blamed for it a few times. Why do you care? How can you make an opinion about a thing you are not actually a part of? How could you know what is the best? The answers are easy. I care because I want to. I make my opinion based on many different sources (Czech media, US media, confirmed facts). I don’t know what the best solution is and it is not even the point I’m trying to make.

I wanted to share my opinion on this matter instantly after the Election Day, since I was watching the outcomes live and spent a few months before the day researching and making a personal opinion. I didn’t. The reason why I didn’t want to make my opinion public was that I didn’t feel like I’m objective enough, because I indeed felt quite emotional and angry.

Last week, I visited the Multimedia Day at Masaryk University in Brno and I had the opportunity to be present on a debate about the role of US media in US presidential elections. The hosts of the debate were Prof. Stephen Doig (American journalist, winner of the Pulitzer Prize), Iva Roze (Newsweek) and Daniel Anýž (Newsweek). I’ve never been on a debate like this before, but I’m pretty sure this was one of the best debates on this topic ever. I thought I would have some struggle to understand them, because it was all in English, but surprisingly, my English tends to be very good and I understood everything they said. And, after the debate, not only I felt motivated to become a journalist (even more than I am normally), but I also spent at least two more hours after the debate thinking about what they were saying. The most surprising thought that was presented (at least for me), was the unhappy effect of media predictions. I honestly never thought of the opposite impact they could have. Mr. Anýž said that if the election prediction was 85% in favour of Hillary Clinton, it’s possible that some people thought it’s not necessary to go and vote, because she “would win anyway.” Maybe, it could even encourage some Trump voters to go, vote and change the prediction in favour of their candidate. It makes these prediction quite a good way of manipulation, doesn’t it?

15380809_1255434997811723_8165444025837388949_n
Daniel Anýž, Iva Roze and Prof. Stephen Doig; photo: MUNI

However, the point I want to make today, here and now, is not about who was a better candidate or what the media should have done differently. It’s about the future. Donald Trump was democratically elected, which makes him the next American president. You can disagree, you can feel disappointed, and you can even share your opinion with others. You have right to do all of that. However, no matter how disapproval of the result you are, you still have to accept that he won and he won democratically by the will of the people. Everyone should wish for him to be successful, because he has the future of the USA (and I’m brave enough to say even the rest of the world) in his hands and we all should actually hope he does well. He has the potential to succeed. He is a good businessman, he has good relationships with leaders of other countries and he is willing to make a change. No matter how awful human being he seems to be, he deserves a chance to prove if he can be at least a good president.

weeklycomic_800x533_l_1478173356

Let’s stay positive. We don’t need the president to keep fighting for the rights of LGBT people, for the rights of people of colour, for gender equality and tons of other issues the world is facing nowadays. It’s the people who matter. Remember, the president is one very powerful person, but the will of millions is much more powerful than him.

Leave a Reply

