The Feast

Hey! I was doing just fine before I met you, I drink too much and that’s an issue, but I’m o… oh, crap, wait. That’s not what I meant to say. Hey! Yes, I’m back. Yes, it’s been two months. Yes, I’m sorry.

I’m only one and a half months into the school year and it has already been insane! There’s a hella lot of work at school, since I’m now in my third year and I’m having extra afternoon lessons (English, Spanish and Social Studies), but I’m also taking part in an international project Quarry Life Award, having rehearsals in theatre, becasue the premiere is in November, and there was a big event in my village that I never really know how to call in English, so I use the word feast, since it’s a huge event with lots of wine, food, dance and laugh.

The feast is an event happening for two days, usually at the end of September. On the first day, a group of young people dressed in traditional local folk costumes goes around the village and invites people from every house to come to the dancing event happening in the evening. The group divides into pairs ad every pair has to invite people from specific part of the village, so you usually end up with 20-50 houses to go to. Guys wear a hat, a shirt, a vest, trousers and very high boots. Girls are dressed in a shirt, a vest and from 3 to 5 skirts, also accompanied by high boots on heels. In the evening, there’s a dancing event and the whole village comes to have fun, see the young people in costumes and dance a bit. It’s a very specific local tradition, which is may be quite surprising to people that have never seen such an event before. For those, who are dressed in the costumes and take iniciative in the whole evening, it’s exhausting and painful.

img_8541
Me and my feast partner Jake
img_8578
I’m not used to having so many boys around me, huh *evil smile*

On the second day, the guys meet up on one end of the village and they go through the whole village, stopping at every house, where a dressed girl lives. They stop, sing, the girl comes out of the house and gives her partner his hat. Then, they have a dance solo and after they’re done, the group continues to next house. This walk through a village takes around 6 hours and yet, we’re still not finished. In the evening, there’s another event, pretty similar to the one that happened the night before. Everyone sings, dances and has fun. After midnight, the dressed gyus and girls change their shoes to some comfy ones (and by that I actually mean trainers or slippers) and they finally have a rest and some drinks. The weak ones (aka me) go home around 2AM, the strong ones don’t go home at all.

20160925_170140
Me and Jake having our solo
img_8646
Our arrival into the hall was pretty fancy
img_8722
Midnight surprise…
img_8708
…is exhausting. My face says it all.

This tradition is very specific, so it’s hard to explain in a short text. Also, I’ve been a part of this for the first time and I’m still full of emotions and experiences that are very difficult to express to someone, who may never heard of or been a part of this kind of event. It was exhausting, I lost my voice and couldn’t speak for two days, I thinned down two kilograms (got them back now ;(), my feet were covered in blisters and plasters, but if you asked me to do this again, I would definitely go for it.

img_8981
We even managed to take a family photo. This one makes the wall for sure.

I’m back blogging. Prepare yourselves.

 

Leave a Reply

