Potato pancakes with healthy nutella

I have never been interested in cooking and whenever mum asked me to help her with the lunch, it annoyed me. However, since I went vegetarian, I realized that I can’t eat healthy without cooking my own meals, because as a non-cooking vegetarian, you end up with a roll and cheese, which gets disgusting after a while. So, I started a research, I made my own cooking book with my favourite recipes and not that I only learnt how to cook, I also found out that with a few experiences, cooking is way more fun than it looks like. I’ve always wanted to be a magician and in the kitchen, I can finally try how it feels. I love experimenting with ingredients, mixing up things no one else in our family has tried before. And that’s also the way how I came up with this recipe. Potato pancakes with healthy nutella are something I love with all my… mouth.

Healthy nutella

What do you need?
1 tin of coconut milk (it’s important to be a tin, because in tins, the coconut milk is not liquidy in room temperature – also better be in fridge before you cook with it)
3-4 handfuls of crushed nuts (should be hazelnuts, but they’re quite expensive, so I just used wallnuts, because we have them in the garden)
dark cacao
honey

How do you make it?
As it was in the previous post, your most important friend will be a blender. And very, very surprisingly, you blend the coconut milk (without the water on the bottom) with the cacao. You add the nuts and honey and you blend on and on and on, until it’s very finely looking.

Tips:
If it’s not sweet enough, add more honey.
If it’s too runny, add more nuts.
If it’s too light in colour/not enough cacao-y, add more cacao.
The coconut water, which is on the bottom of the tin, can be used in smoothies or any kind of baking, where you add milk or water.

Potato pancakes

What do you need?
1 kg of potatoes
100 g of plain flour
1 egg
sugar
sunflower oil

How do you make it?
Cook the whole potatoes in pressure cooker, peel them and grate them. Add the flour, sugar and egg and mix it with your hands, until you have properly mixed and finely looking dough. If it’s too runny, add a bit more flour, but don’t put too much of it in in. Shape it into a cylinder with diameter around 5 or 6 centimetres. Then cut it onto smaller pieces, every piece should be 2 or 3 centimetres wide. Roll every piece into the shape of pancake. Then, use safe frying pan with NO OIL and put the first pancake in the pan. Fry it slowly and quite long. Once you finish your first pancake, put it on some plate and briefly drizzle it with oil (it makes them softer). Let them rest for a while and then you can enjoy the meal!

Tips:
I love those pancakes with nutella, yogurt or plum jam. I wouldn’t necessarily eat it with fruits, but if you want, you can try it out for me.
Eventually, if you don’t put the sugar in them, you can also eat them in a salty way with spinach and cheese.
Actually cook it very slowly and please, be careful so you don’t burn them.

Let me know if you’re interested in recreating everyone’s guilty pleasures into something slightly more healthy, because it’s actually a lot of fun!

Leave a Reply

