10 Tips For Writing

Every time I have a writing crisis (which happens more often than you’d say), I’ve got some ways to get the inspiration and mood I need. It may not be all effective for you, but I believe that everyone can sort of relate and find what’s working for him.

1) Listen to music
Actually, listening to music can lead both ways – it can encourage you to the best writing ever, but on the other hand, it can interrupt your concentration, which is not what you’re looking for. So, the most important step you have to make, is to choose the right music. There’s something different for everyone out there, but as for me, the most effective type of music is calming, instrumental music quietly playing in the background. You don’t even have to download or buy any, because you can find a tone of music on YouTube. For the best result, search for meditation or studying music. They’re the best to calm you down and not interrupt, but also to bring you the right misty mood.

2) Eat and drink
Keeping your body satisfied is a very important part of the final product and also of how you feel while writing. I usually can’t write without having a bottle of water and a cup of tea/coffee right next to me, because somehow – I always get thirsty. Also, you shouldn’t write hungry, because then your thoughts are going in a different way and again, we need to concentrate.

3) Shut down the social sites
Many writers tell you to turn down the whole internet, but I sometimes search there for grammar or synonyms, so I always let it go. However, social sites are one big disaster, if you’re trying to work effectively. Turn it down, close the Facebook, Twitter, Instagram or whatever you’re using and don’t turn it on until you’re done.

4) Discuss your ideas
Sometimes, when I’m lost and I can’t write a single meaningful word, I text someone and share my struggle with them. Even when I’m in the middle of writing and I’m not sure how to continue, what to write first or if my idea is worthy writing, I tell my friends (or my very first beta-reader, co-worker, cook and supporter – my mum) and somehow, I always figure it out and catch the right idea. So, don’t be shy to ask for other people’s thoughts.

5) Exercise
Do you have a creative block? Don’t worry. Go for a walk, play with your dog or do a little exercise. You increase your brain power and you put some extra oxygen to your body.

6) Get some oxygen
Speaking of oxygen, it’s one of the most important things. You need fresh air, especially a little bit more chilly. It helps you concentrate and it should keep you fresh and ready to work for quite a while. So, don’t forget to open the window every now and then.

7) Get comfortable
I honestly won’t write a single line if I’m not comfortable enough. I almost always write in my bed or on the most comfortable armchair in the world (it’s really old, because my mum used to use this armchair when she was breast-feeding my brother, which is like 22 years ago). I also wear the world comfiest clothes – a T-shirt, jumper and some sweatpants. Also, I like to take off my watch, because I don’t really like to see the track of time. Once you’re deep inside the writing, you shouldn’t care about time (unless you have a due date).

8) Write everything you have on your mind
Write it, even if you’re not sure if you want to use it. There’s always time later, when you edit the final text, so you don’t have to worry. Don’t even correct your grammar mistakes. On the first go, you should just write the raw version with mistakes and useless words and later on, you should start correcting. For example, I’ve written a whole page of text, which I later on deleted, just because I did not like it. Writing takes sacrifice.

9) Get some inspiration
If any of those tips didn’t work for you, there’s one that has to work for everybody. Hit up Google and search for writing quotes. I’ve done this once, when I was struggling with lack of motivation and… whoa. It kicked up my muse so well! Here are few quotes for you, in case you’re too lazy to search:

The first draft of anything is shit.
Ernest Hemingway

Reading is more important than writing.
Roberto Bolaño

Writing is easy. All you have to do is cross out the wrong words.
Mark Twain

A writer is someone for whom writing is more difficult than it is for other people.
Thomas Mann

I’m not sure if a bad person can write a good book. If art doesn’t make us better, than what on earth is it for?
Alice Walker

10) Be yourself
Once you’re inspired enough to write, remember to be yourself. Don’t try to look like somebody who you’re not. Don’t try to use complicated words and phrases, write as it’s natural for you. Write like you’d like to read it. Write like you want to say every single detail. Write like you’re telling a story you lived on your own. Write like there’s nothing that could stop you and don’t stop until it’s finished. Good luck.

Leave a Reply

