Steven Moffat leaving and late S10

Today, I’m coming with some exciting news from the Doctor Who universe! You may or may not know that Steven Moffat is going to leave the position of head screenwriter. He’s going to stay for one more season and then, Chris Chibnall is going to take over the TV series. Also, we’re not going to get a proper series this year. There’s going to be a Christmas special and the series 10 is airing next year – in 2017.

tumblr_inline_o1dk0oex9u1tffml7_500

I’ve always quite liked Moffat and although sometimes I felt like he ruined my life with some of his stories, I have to admit that he’s made a great job. Especially the series 9 was the best series of Doctor Who so far. I’m a little bit sheepish about his leaving, because I adored his episodes, but on the other hand, I’m very excited about Chris Chibnall. He’s the writer of Broadchurch (starring David Tennant and Olivia Colman) and I absolutely love every moment of the show, so I’m looking forward to seeing what is he going to do with Doctor Who. He’s already had a few experiences with writing for DW (he basically made Torchwood, too) and it wasn’t bad at all.

The other news is about late airing of the series 10. Of course it annoys me, because I have to wait one more year to see Doctor Who and I’m not talking about Sherlock, right? However, I think it’s a great decision, because I would rather have a nice and unique series and wait for it one more year, than to have some “meh” series like the series 8. Also, I’ve heard that Peter Capaldi and the whole crew are tired, so I think it’s fair to give them more time to relax.

What are your thoughts? Don’t ignore me and let me know in the comments!

Leave a Reply

