Do more of what makes you happy

I always liked the idea of doing what makes you happy, but I never really did so. I always thought about how cool it would be, but I still continued doing the everyday routine of waking up, going to school, studying for tests and going to sleep.  Here comes new year and so does new me – I’ve decided to actually do a thing with my life and change it in a whole new way. I’ve decided to do more of what makes me happy.

Do you, guys, remember the literary competition, I was second in last year? The story I wrote was about a dragon. I felt good in a magical world, where I can make up things just as I like it. I can use my imagination, create new world, new creatures, new plants… just whatever I want to exist. It was my world. However, this year came and so did a new comeptition. I knew this time,  it has to be serious. I knew I have to write an actual story happening on planet Earth – without magic, dragons, wizards and witches. I also wanted it to be unusual, creative, original, touching and I wanted it to have a deep thought. I wanted to write something so hard, but every time I wrote a sentence, it just didn’t feel right. I felt like it’s not good enough to describe what I actually mean by that. I was annoyed and sad. I gave up.

On January 2nd in the middle of the night, I had a little depression and I needed to chat to someone, so I texted my friend Jane. While we were chatting, in a corner of my brain, a new idea started to raise. Jane went to bed and I turned off my phone. My parents were sleeping. I was sitting on my bed with the lights off and… I was thinking. It seemed crazy, but I found the plot for my story. I wrote down a few notes and I fell asleep. I woke up the next morning and started writing. I spend whole two days writing. I didn’t even go outside the house. My mind couldn’t concentrate on doing anything else, I just needed to write the story. To finish the storyline. To put every single piece of me in it. To make it perfect. To make it… mine. In two days, it was done. It seemed unreal. I wasn’t even thinking about what am I writing. There was a connection between my brain and my fingers and that was all I needed.

First of all, I read it to my beta reader – mum. In the middle of the story, I had to stop, because I couldn’t read anymore – I was crying. I felt a little bit embarrassed, but when I looked up, I saw that mum is crying as well. It sounds weird, but I actually liked it. The idea of my story making somebody cry is pretty crazy, right? I can make people laugh or make them think about themselves, but I never meant to make somebody cry. However, in a week since I wrote the story, I had about ten people reading my story and the reaction was insane. I think, even if I wouldn’t be successful in the comeptition, I’m absolutely satisfied with the reaction I already got, because if there’s anything on the world, that could make a writer happy, it’s obviously a positive reaction to his work.

So, that’s it. That’s how I wrote my first story of 2016. That’s how I wrote something I’m proud of. That’s how I made a few people cry. That’s how I started to do what I enjoy and what makes me happy. A big thanks goes to Alfie Deyes and Marcus Butler, because without Alfie’s video and Marcus’ book, I wouldn’t make me accept the challenge and also to all the people, who read my story and gave me their feedback.

Leave a Reply

