My favourite books of 2015

Last year, I didn’t read as much as I would actually like to, despite that, I read some pretty good ones. I use website/app Goodreads to keep note of every book I read or I want to read, so at the end of the year, it’s really simple to look back for me. I did so and I chose six most favourite books I read last year.

1) Silkworm by Robert Galbraith

That was my present for 2014’s Christmas. First of all, let’s take a moment and appreciate JKR’s detective writing skills. I mean… she can tell stories, we know that – she wrote Harry Potter, but this is something totally different. I loved it very much and I couldn’t stop reading until very late hours, when I had to push myself to go to bed. She wrote the story so much engagingly and convincingly, that you really feel like you’re part of the story, standing there and watching Strike and Robin doing their investigation.

I showed the first book (Cuckoo’s Calling) to my grandma and she just loved it as much as I do, so when she found out I have the second book, she asked me to lend it to her, because she “just needed to read it.” By the way, she read the whole book with like six hundred pages in two days. She also told me, when the third book will come out, she’ll buy it, read it and give it to me. So… me and my grandma are kind of obsessed by Rowling’s (AKA Galbraith’s) books and we both loved them as much as it’s possible.

2) The Fault In Our Stars by John Green

I like looking at things in a different viewpoint. I like thinking about things, no one would even stop at. I like looking for hidden messages. I like books like The Fault In Our Stars. Brilliantly written stories with meaningful message inside and inspirational quotes and ideas. This is the kind of book, which leaves you with a strange feeling deep inside you, it makes you feel about your life, your goals… and it changes your point of view. It definitely changes your mind. Maybe it’ll also make you cry, but that’s usually just a side effect.

3) Hello Life by Marcus Butler

He’s not a writer. This book is not going to amaze you as for literature. However, this book is going to amaze you by its content, fun and wisdom. If you don’t know Marcus… wait, how can you not know the British God of YouTube? Well, if you don’t know him, don’t tell me and check him out: https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCPeZTzsoQ4iBjfkVbU0ilmg

4) Wild by Cheryl Strayed

I already gave you a review of this book in My November Favourites post. This book means a lot to me, it’s pasionately one of my most favourite book I’ve ever read. It’s so powerful, realistic and interesting!

5) Love, Rosie by Cecilia Ahern

I don’t usually read romantic books and mostly I don’t even like them, but sometimes you get that strange mood and you feel like having those crying moments while reading some really sweet book. I had that feeling and so I started reading Love, Rosie. I’ve seen the film (and cried a lot), but I somehow knew that the book would be even better. So, I read and read and read.  It did made me cry, but it also gave me something more: wonderful story and its interpretation.

6) The Perks of Being a Wallflower

To understand how I feel about this book, I assume, you have to read it.  There’s no other way, I’m sorry. All I can say is, that this book is brilliant. Really, truly brilliant.

Leave a Reply

